//
you're reading...
Ello, Facebook, Social media, Social media tools

Marketing Planet Blog: ‘Ello’ and see you later?/ ‘Ello’ y adiós?

So finally, weeks after I sent in a request to join what was supposed to be the next thing in the social network world, the alternative to Facebook, this new space for creative people, right before Christmas I get an invite to join Ello, the “social network you have been waiting for. Simple, beautiful and ad-free.” To tell you the truth, I had forgotten that I had sent the request and since this new network had failed keep the momentum going after the initial buzz, there was nothing to remind me of its existence. So, anyway, I logged in and checked it out.
Right after logging in, there is this video with a 1960s elevator music that gives me some instructions finishing up with a prompt to “search for other humans”. The design is simple, all black and white. Actually, a bit too simple for my taste. When I look for “other humans” to befriend or to add as “noise” I see lots of guys with beards and tattoos and just about everybody seems to be from the U.S.
Apparently, since Ello was first launched people could participate but only by invite and the initial interest last summer, it has died down. Perhaps that is the reason my request was finally approved? I also read that Ello got a lot of publicity from the fact that some drag queens in the U.S. got fed up with Facebook’s demand that they register using their real names. Ello does say that “you can be who you want to be.” Sure, people get antsy about Facebook ads and privacy policy but does that mean that they will move in droves to yet another social network and quit Facebook? Or if they keep Facebook, will people be willing to have yet another social media tool to update? Only time will tell if Ello will live up to its expectations, but I personally don’t have huge hopes for Ello. I think that it may be used for some very creative folks to display their art, so it that case it’ll become a niche social network such as those that exist for just beautiful people or for moms. Will it be an alternative to Facebook? I don’t think so. Below, my profile page in Ello.

marketingplanetblog_ello


Total, que por fin recibí una invitación para ser parte de ‘Ello’, el medio social que se supone que iba a ser la alternativa de Facebook, pero sin sus anuncios. Como Ello, tras la publicidad inicial, no supo mantener el interés, no había nada que me hiciera esperar el momento de meterme en la website con anticipación. O sea, que me había olvidado de que mandé hace semanas una petición para participar. Una vez que recibí la invitación, por curiosidad, puse mi info y creé una cuenta, lo cual se hizo rapidamente. Enseguida un vídeo con una musica tipo ascensor de los años 60 me da instrucciones para crear mi perfil, y esto hice, sin ningun problema. El diseño de Ello es limpio y simple, todo en blanco y negro. Un poco demasiado simple, la verdad. Una vez he acabado con mi perfil, me pongo a buscar otros perfiles, y veo montones de tipos con barbas y tatuajes, gente “cool”, vamos y casi todo el mundo de Estados Unidos. 

Aparentemente, el “social network” fué creado para que la gente pudiera participar inicialmente solo por invitación, y tras mucha atención al principio, ésta ha disminuido. Me imagino que por eso por fin mi petición fué aceptada. Es interesante que por lo visto, varias “drag queens” estadounidenses se cabrearon con Facebook al insistir este medio social que se inscribieran con su nombre y apellido de verdad, y de ahí el interés en un medio social que no te exija eso. Ciertanmente mucha gente se agobia con ese tipo de exigencias, y con la publicidad de Facebook y su política de privacidad, pero no tengo yo muy claro si eso será suficiente para que la gente vaya corriendo a apuntarse a Ello, por no hablar de que el tener que apuntarte en otro medio social, y mantenerlo actualizado puede ser un poco demasiado para todos y todas.

En fin, el tiempo dirá si Ello será la alternativa a un Facebook sin publicidad, pero yo personalmente no lo creo. Me parece que acabará siendo un medio social de tipo “niche” (o sea, para un grupo de personas con un interés común), en este caso para artistas y gente muy creativa, pero en cuanto a hacerle la competencia a “los grandes” como Facebook, o incluso Google+, la verdad, es que no lo creo. Arriba, imagen de mi perfil en Ello.

About MLL69

Feminista y guiri.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

